mini project: tiny morning flowers

This morning I was inspired by something unexpected.

I head down to our cute little veggie patch to do a bit of watering (it is super hot in Brisbane at the moment and everything dries out so quick!)  and found that a few different plants had beautiful, dew covered flowers appear overnight! I thought to myself that this would be a great little project to crochet!

img_2504

This is a peanut flower. Yes, actual peanuts! It’s adorable!

I felt like trying something out that I felt could be put to use within many different projects. I have crocheted so many fun things like beanies and socks, to dog hats and purses, but felt like something a little more dainty and pretty was on the menu for me today.

img_2495

This stuff is super soft and delicate! I think I will make some baby booties out of it!

I started out with the smallest yarn I have which is this beautiful Patons baby merino, it’s 4ply and just the softest baby yarn ever!

img_2505

Pretty pink impatient!

 

I thought I would begin with something small and simple, you see I have never crocheted a flower before, I just figured I would start with a magic circle, and maybe work with 5 stitches to then create 5 petals. Just a standard shape similar to this impatient flower.

It took about 5 minutes to figure out and here they are in all their adorable flower glory!

img_2508

These are in the colours Mint and Peony

I will be posting a free pattern and tutorial for these cuties very soon so keep an eye out!

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-5-36-03-pm

Leave a Reply

